Global Board of Advisers

The Global Board of Advisers (GBA) consists of prominent individuals, including business leaders, noted academics, and former government officials from developed and emerging-market countries. The prestigious group provides CFR with insight about their regions and also offers a mechanism for members of the GBA to join discussions on international relations and the U.S. role in the world. The GBA is chaired by David M. Rubenstein, CFR Board vice chairman.

Members of the Global Board of Advisers

Kofi Annan

Former Secretary-General of the UN

Hakeem Belo-Osagie

Etisalat Nigeria

Anatoly Chubais


Paul Desmarais Jr.

Power Corporation of Canada

Mathias Döpfner

Axel Springer AG

André Esteves

BTG Pactual

José Antonio Fernández Carbajal


Tarja Halonen

Former President of the Republic of Finland

Mo Ibrahim

Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Mohammed Jameel

Abdul Latif Jameel Company

Gail Kelly

Westpac Banking Corporation

Mustafa V. Koç

Koç Holding

Yorihiko Kojima

Mitsubishi Corporation

Anand Mahindra

The Mahindra Group

Christophe de Margerie

Total SA

Strive Masiyiwa

Econet Wireless

Idan Ofer

Quantum Pacific Group

Lubna Olayan

The Olayan Group

Vladimir Potanin

Norilsk Nickel

Charles David Powell

House of Lords

Paolo Scaroni

Rothschild Group

Javier Solana

The Brookings Institution

Woods Staton

Arcos Dorados

Patrick Walujo

Northstar Group

Zhang Xin

SOHO China