Global Board of Advisors

The Global Board of Advisors (GBA) consists of prominent individuals, including business leaders, noted academics, and former government officials from developed and emerging-market countries. The prestigious group provides CFR with insight about their regions and also offers a mechanism for members of the GBA to join discussions on international relations and the U.S. role in the world. The GBA is chaired by David M. Rubenstein, CFR Board vice chairman.

Members of the Global Board of Advisors

Kofi Annan

Former Secretary-General of the UN

Hakeem Belo-Osagie

Etisalat Nigeria

Claudio Descalzi


Paul Desmarais Jr.

Power Corporation of Canada

Mathias Döpfner

Axel Springer AG

José Antonio Fernández Carbajal


Tarja Halonen

Former President of the Republic of Finland

Fred Hu

Primavera Capital Group

Mo Ibrahim

Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Gail Kelly


Ali Y. Koç

Koç Holding A.S.

Yorihiko Kojima

Mitsubishi Corporation

Strive Masiyiwa

Econet Wireless

Takeshi Niinami

Suntory Holdings Limited

Vladimir Potanin

Norilsk Nickel

Charles David Powell

House of Lords

Suzan Sabancı Dinçer


Nassef Sawiris


Javier Solana

The Brookings Institution

Tidjane Thiam

Credit Suisse

Helle Thorning-Schmidt

Save the Children International Former Prime Minister of Denmark

Patrick Walujo

Northstar Group

Zhang Xin

SOHO China