Primary Sources

PrintPrint EmailEmail ShareShare CiteCite


Arctic Ocean Conference: Ilulissat Declaration

Published May 28, 2008

The Premier of Greenland and representatives of Canada, Denmark, Norway, Russia, and the United States held a conference on May 28, 2008 in Ilulissat, Greenland. They agreed upon this declaration about the sovereignty of the Arctic region and how the five nations bordering the Arctic Ocean can address the effects of climate change in the region.

More on This Topic

Analysis Brief

Tensions Over Germany's Euro Role

Author: Christopher Alessi

Anti-Germany protests in Athens have highlighted the country's complicated role as de facto leader of Europe while raising concerns about the...

Must Read

FP: Couples Retreat

Author: Mira Kamdar

Mira Kamdar, a senior fellow at the World Policy Institute and an award-winning author, analyzes the rocky relationship between French...