Primary Sources

PrintPrint EmailEmail ShareShare CiteCite


Declaration of the Establishment of the Arctic Council, 1996

Published September 19, 1996

With this agreement (also known as the Ottawa Declaration) the Arctic Council was established on September 19, 1996, by Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States. The Arctic Council is a forum to promote collaboration among the Arctic states, Arctic Indigenous communities, and other Arctic inhabitants on issues such as sustainable development and environmental protection.

The Arctic Environmental Protection Strategy of 1991 preceded the founding of the Arctic Council, but is one example of the coordination between the eight Arctic states.

More on This Topic

Analysis Brief

Gloomy Portents for Global Trade

Author: Lee Hudson Teslik

A downbeat Davos summit brings warnings of trade protectionism into the limelight. Economists say these concerns should be taken into account...