Primary Sources

PrintPrint CiteCite
Style: MLAAPAChicago Close


Treaty Establishing the European Economic Community (Treaty of Rome)

Published March 25, 1957

The European Economic Commmunity Treaty, also known as the Treaty of Rome, was signed on March 25, 1957. The EU states, that it "brings together France, Germany, Italy and the Benelux countries in a community whose aim is to achieve integration via trade with a view to economic expansion. After the Treaty of Maastricht the EEC became the European Community, reflecting the determination of the Member States to expand the Community's powers to non-economic domains."

More on This Topic

Primary Sources

Treaty of Lisbon

The Treaty of Lisbon amended the EU's two core treaties, the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community. It...