Primary Sources

PrintPrint CiteCite
Style: MLAAPAChicago Close


Treaty of Paris



Treaty of Paris

This is the first and founding instrument of the European Union and the EU Constitution. It was signed on April 18, 1951, entered into force on July 23, 1952, and expired on July 23, 2002. It initially defined the main European institutions, such as the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), and was signed by France, Germany, Italy and the Benelux countries, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg.

More on This Topic