Primary Sources

PrintPrint CiteCite
Style: MLAAPAChicago Close


Declaration by United Nations



Declaration by United Nations

This declaration was made on January 1, 1942, at the First Washington Conference (Arcadia Conference) during World War II. The term 'united nations' was coined by Franklin Delano Roosevelt and the declaration included 26 governments

A Joint Declaration by the United States, the United Kingdom, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, China, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, South Africa, Yugoslavia

The Governments signatory hereto,

Having subscribed to a common program of purposes and principles embodied in the Joint Declaration of the President of the United States of America and the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland dated August 14, 1941, known as the Atlantic Charter.

Being convinced that complete victory over their enemies is essential to defend life, liberty, independence and religious freedom, and to preserve human rights and justice in their own lands as well as in other lands, and that they are now engaged in a common struggle against savage and brutal forces seeking to subjugate the world,


(1) Each Government pledges itself to employ its full resources, military or economic, against those members of the Tripartite Pact :and its adherents with which such government is at war.

(2) Each Government pledges itself to cooperate with the Governments signatory hereto and not to make a separate armistice or peace with the enemies.

The foregoing declaration may be adhered to by other nations which are, or which may be, rendering material assistance and contributions in the struggle for victory over Hitlerism.

Done at Washington

January First, 1942

[The signatories to the Declaration by United Nations are as listed above.]

The adherents to the Declaration by United Nations, together with the date of communication of adherence, are as follows:

Mexico June 5, 1942 Peru Feb. 11, 1945
Philippines June 10, 1942 Chile Feb. 12, 1945
Ethiopia July 28, 1942 Paraguay Feb. 12, 1945
Iraq Jan. 16, 1943 Venezuela Feb. 16, 1945
Brazil Feb. 8, 1943 Uruguay Feb. 23, 1945
Bolivia Apr. 27, 1943 Turkey Feb. 24, 1945
Iran Sept. 10, 1943 Egypt Feb. 27, 1945
Colombia Dec. 22, 1943 Saudi Arabia Mar. 1, 1945
Liberia Feb. 26, 1944 Lebanon Mar. 1, 1945
France Dec. 26, 1944 Syria Mar. 1, 1945
Ecuador Feb. 7, 1945

More on This Topic

Must Read

Der Spiegel: The G8 Is Dead

Author: Dirk Kurbjuweit

The L'Aquila summit showed just how irrelevant the G-8 has become, as emerging economies demand more and more of a say at the negotiating...