Primary Sources

PrintPrint EmailEmail ShareShare CiteCite


Agreement on South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA)

Published January 1, 2006

This agreement was reached by India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Maldives, and Bhutan on January 6, 2004 and entered into effect on January 1, 2006. It calls for tariff reductions for intraregional trade.

More on This Topic


Friendly Fire

Author: Julia E. Sweig

America quietly sowed the seeds of its own decline in the eyes of the world in its own backyard. In Latin America, under the guise of...