Primary Sources

PrintPrint CiteCite
Style: MLAAPAChicago Close


Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement

Published January 2012



Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement

The Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) was completed at the ACTA negotiations in Wellington, New Zealand on April 16, 2010. Participants included the EU and its member states, Canada, Australia, Mexico, Japan, Korea, Morocco, Singapore, New Zealand, Switzerland, and the U.S. It was signed by Australia, Canada, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the United States in October 2011 and in January 2012 by the EU and 22 EU member states. The treaty will come into force after ratification by six countries.

The treaty regards standards for enforcement of intellectual property rights.