Primary Sources

PrintPrint EmailEmail ShareShare CiteCite


Antarctic Treaty



Antarctic Treaty

This treaty, the first and main treaty of the Antarctic Treaty System, deals with foreign relations and Antarctica including issues of military activity, research, sovereignty, nuclear weapons, with the goal of "ensuring the use of Antarctica for peaceful purposes only and the continuance of international harmony in Antarctica". It was originally signed by twelve countries on December 1, 1959 and entered into force on June 23, 1961.

More on This Topic


Politics-Proof Economies?

Authors: David Brady and A. Michael Spence
Project Syndicate

A. Michael Spence and David Brady argue that reformers facing tough constraints on fiscal policy can have a bigger impact on growth by...


A Growth Strategy for Greece

George Papandreou interviewed by Christopher Alessi

The EU and IMF should loosen the austerity requirements of Greece's bailout package to allow the indebted country to implement needed...