Primary Sources

PrintPrint EmailEmail ShareShare CiteCite


P5 Joint Conference Statements on Nuclear Issues

Published April 19, 2013

The five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council, China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, are five nuclear-weapon states that have signed the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT). As the P5, they meet regularly to work toward nuclear disarmament and nonproliferation.

First conference, September 3 to 4, 2009, in London.

Second conference, June 30 to July 1, 2011, in Paris.

Third conference, June 27 to 29, 2012, in Washington, D.C.

Fouth Conference, April 18 to 19, 2013, in Geneva.

More on This Topic

Article Author: Leslie H. Gelb
The National Interest

Leslie H. Gelb says Obama captured the political center at home on foreign policy – a feat for a Democrat – because he avoided costly...