Russia and Central Asia

Primary Sources

Dima Yakovlev Law, December 2012

This act (formally known as On Sanctions for Individuals Violating Fundamental Human Rights and Freedoms of the Citizens of the Russian Federation) bans U.S. citizens involved in human rights violations from entering, conducting business, working with non-profits in Russia, and from adopting children who are Russian citizens. President Putin signed this act into law on December 26, 2012.

See more in Russian Federation; Human Rights

Primary Sources

Russia and Moldova Jackson-Vanik Repeal and Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2012

This act grants permanent normal trade relations with Russia and was signed into law on December 14, 2012. See also the Jackson-Vanik Amendment. The U.S. Treasury Department releases sanctions under the Magnitsky Act, which bans specific Russian citizens from entering the United States. The Russian Foreign Ministry recently released a list in response, banning specific U.S. citizens from entering Russia.

See more in Russian Federation; Human Rights; Trade