Primary Sources

PrintPrint CiteCite
Style: MLAAPAChicago Close


Countries the Secretary of State Has Designated as State Sponsors of Terrorism

Published 2010

The U.S. Department of State website maintains this list of state sponsors of terrorism, defined as "Countries determined by the Secretary of State to have repeatedly provided support for acts of international terrorism are designated pursuant to three laws: section 6(j) of the Export Administration Act, section 40 of the Arms Export Control Act, and section 620A of the Foreign Assistance Act. Taken together, the four main categories of sanctions resulting from designation under these authorities include restrictions on U.S. foreign assistance; a ban on defense exports and sales; certain controls over exports of dual use items; and miscellaneous financial and other restrictions."


More on This Topic


Tackling Terrorist Financing (Audio)

Speaker: David Cohen
Presider: Celina B. Realuyo

Listen to David Cohen, assistant secretary of treasury for terrorist financing, outline the U.S. government's greatest challenges and...