The Maurice R. Greenberg Chair, Vice President / Director of Studies

The Maurice R. Greenberg Chair was established in 1997 by contributions from his friends and colleagues in recognition of his commitment to developing new ideas for U.S. foreign policy and his outstanding leadership of the Council.

The Vice President and Director of Studies holds the Maurice R. Greenberg Chair. The Director of Studies is the senior person directly responsible for the substantive content and management of the Studies Program, the Council’s “think tank.”

Maurice R. Greenberg

A Council member since 1977, Mr. Greenberg is a member of the Council’s Board of Directors and is Honorary Vice Chairman. He is an active participant in Council activities ranging from membership on Board committees, to intellectual participation in Council programs, to generous financial support for the institution.

Mr. Greenberg is Chairman and CEO of C.V. Starr & Co., Inc. He is the retired chairman and CEO of American International Group, Inc. (AIG). Mr. Greenberg served in the U.S. Army in Europe during World War II and in the Korean conflict, rising to the rank of Captain, and is a recipient of the Bronze Star. Mr. Greenberg is former chairman, and currently serves as a trustee, of the Asia Society. He is the founding chairman of the U.S.-Philippine Business Committee and vice chairman of the U.S.-ASEAN Business Council. He is chairman of the U.S.-Korea Business Council, and a member of the U.S.-China Business Council and the Business Roundtable. He is the past chairman, deputy chairman and director of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. Mr. Greenberg is chairman emeritus of New York Hospital, and is active with a number of other civic and charitable organizations. He is also chairman of the Starr Foundation, which provides major financial support to academic, medical, cultural, and public policy institutions.

Maurice R. Greenberg Vice Presidents/Directors of Studies:

2009–  James M. Lindsay
2006–2009  Gary Samore
2003–2006  James M. Lindsay
1998–2002  Lawrence J. Korb
1997–1998  Gary C. Hufbauer