The C.V. Starr Chair in Asia Studies

The C.V. Starr Chair was created in 1985 through a grant from the Starr Foundation, which was established by Cornelius V. Starr, founder of what is now American International Group (AIG). The assistance of Council members affiliated with the Starr Foundation, especially Maurice R. Greenberg, played a notable role in its establishment.

The Starr Foundation

The Starr Foundation was established in 1955 by Cornelius Vander Starr, who moved to China after WWI and founded the Asia Life and American Asiatic Life Insurance Companies (later AIG). The Starr Foundation supports education and especially student aid, international organizations, medicine and health care, the arts and humanities, civic and public affairs, and social services.

C.V. Starr Senior Fellows in Asia Studies:

2001–  Elizabeth C. Economy
1998–2001  Robert A. Manning
1996–1998  Jerome A. Cohen
1993–1996  James J. Shinn
1985–1993  Alan D. Romberg