Center for Preventive Action Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee, a distinguished group of policy, nongovernmental organization, and business experts, advises the president of the Council on Foreign Relations and the director of the Center on improving its work.


George A. Joulwan, USA (Ret.), One Team, Inc.

Chairman Emeritus

John W. Vessey, USA (Ret.)

Deputy Chair

Peter Ackerman, Rockport Capital, Inc.

Advisory Committee Members

Richard K. Betts, Council on Foreign Relations

Patrick M. Byrne,

Leslie H. Gelb, President Emeritus and Board Senior Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations

Jack A. Goldstone, George Mason University

Sherri W. Goodman, CAN

Robert S. Litwak, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Thomas G. Mahnken, The Johns Hopkins University

Doyle McManus, Los Angeles Times

Susan Patricof, Mailman School of Public Health

David Shuman, Northwoods Capital Management, L.L.C.

Nancy E. Soderberg, University of North Florida

Steven D. Winch, Ripplewood Holdings, L.L.C.

James D. Zirin, Sidley Austin LLP