Primary Sources

PrintPrint EmailEmail ShareShare CiteCite


ASEAN Charter



ASEAN Charter

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was formed on August 8, 1967. Original member states were Indonesia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Malaysia; current membership also includes Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, and Vietnam. The charter, also known as the Bangkok Declaration, was signed at the Thai Department of Foreign Affairs in Bangkok, Thailand. The current Secretariat is in Indonesia.



More on This Topic


Two Deficits, Fed Turnover

Author: Lee Hudson Teslik

Two decades ago, the United States was the world's largest creditor; now it's the world's largest debtor. As Ben Bernanke assumes the post of...

Other Report Author: Francis E. Warnock

The dollar's status as the world's reserve currency has become a facet of U.S. power, allowing the United States to borrow effortlessly and...