The Whitney H. Shepardson Fellowship

The Whitney H. Shepardson Fellowship was established in 1961, and renamed in 1967 to honor one of the founders of the Council, who served on the Board of Directors from 1921 until his death in 1966. This senior-level fellowship is periodically awarded to a person with experience and recognized professional stature in public or academic affairs related to the study of international relations.

Whitney H. Shepardson (1890-1966)

Whitney Shepardson was an international business executive, editor, and author whose strong interest in international affairs began when he attended the Versailles peace conference in 1919. He returned to New York and helped found the Council on Foreign Relations in 1921. From 1934 to 1940, he was the principal editor of The United States in World Affairs, the Council’s annual review of world events. During World War II, Mr. Shepardson headed the Secret Intelligence unit of the Office of Strategic Services (which became the CIA). From 1953 to 1956, he served as president of the Free Europe Committee, operator of Radio Free Europe.

Whitney Shepardson Fellows

2015–  Robert K. Knake
2010–2014  Charles A. Kupchan
2006–2010  James M. Goldgeier
2005–2006   Peter B. Kenen, Council on Foreign Relations
2004–2005   Manuel Enrique Hinds, former Minister of Finance, El Salvador
2002–2003  Ronald Steel, University of Southern California
2000–2001  Charles A. Kupchan, Council on Foreign Relations
1999–2000   Michael Mandelbaum, Johns Hopkins University
1998–1999   John J. Mearsheimer, University of Chicago
1997–1998  Tony Smith, Harvard University Center for European Studies
1995–1997   John Newhouse, formerly of The Brookings Institution
1993–1994   John Lewis Gaddis, Ohio University
1992–1993  Stanley Hoffmann, Harvard University
Michael Joseph Smith, University of Virginia
1991–1992   David C. Hendrickson, Colorado College
Robert W. Tucker, John Hopkins University
1990–1991  Roger D. Stone, World Wildlife Fund
1989–1990   Monteagle Stearns, Warburg Professor of International Relations, Simmons College
1988–1989  Donald S. Zagoria, City University of New York—Hunter College
1986–1988  José Luis Llovio-Menendez, former official in Castro government
1984–1985   Benjamin J. Cohen, Clayton Professor of International Economic Affairs, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy
1982–1983   Peter B. Grose, editorial staff, The New York Times
1978–1980   Murrey Marder, diplomatic correspondent, Washington Post
1977–1978   Eric Rouleau, diplomatic correspondent, Le Monde
1974–1975   Marshall D. Shulman, Adlai E. Stevenson Professor of International Relations, Columbia University
1972–1973   John S. Dickey
1971–1972  John S. Dickey
1970–1971   Philip C. Jessup, Sr.
1967–1968  Willard L. Thorp

Please note: Titles reflect fellows’ positions just prior to joining the Council.