Arthur Ross Book Award

Logo of the Arthur Ross Book Award

The annual Arthur Ross Book Award recognizes books that make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of foreign policy or international relations. The prize, endowed by the late Arthur Ross in 2001, is for nonfiction works from the past year, in English or translation, that merit special attention for:

  • bringing forth new information that changes the understanding of events or problems;
  • developing analytical approaches that offer insights into critical issues; or
  • introducing ideas that help resolve foreign policy problems.

See the list of past winners, 2002 through 2014.

2014 Awards

Gold Medal
Gary J. Bass
The Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide (Alfred A. Knopf)

Silver Medal
Carter Malkasian
War Comes to Garmser: Thirty Years of Conflict on the Afghan Frontier (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mention
Benn Steil
The Battle of Bretton Woods: John Maynard Keynes, Harry Dexter White, and the Making of a New World Order (Princeton University Press)


We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2015 Arthur Ross Book Award. If you would like to nominate a book published in 2015 for next year’s award, please email with the following:

  • book title and author
  • publication date
  • one-page description or press release

For any other inquiries, please email


Gideon Rose (Chair)
Peter G. Peterson Chair and Editor, Foreign Affairs

Robert W. Kagan
Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy, Project on International Order and Strategy, The Brookings Institution

Susan K. Purcell
Director, Center for Hemispheric Policy,
University of Miami

Mary Elise Sarotte
Visiting Professor of Government and History,
Harvard University

Calvin G. Sims
President and Chief Executive Officer,
International House

Andrew Ross Sorkin
Columnist and Assistant Business Editor,
New York Times

Stephen M. Walt
Robert and Renée Belfer Professor of International Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School, Harvard University

News Releases