The Edward R. Murrow Press Fellowship

The Edward R. Murrow Press Fellowship offers an annual resident fellowship for nine months, typically from September through May, at the Council’s offices in New York. The program aims to help the Fellow increase competency in reporting and interpreting events abroad and allows a period of nearly a year for sustained analysis and writing, free from the daily pressures that characterize journalistic life. The program is now made possible by a grant from the CBS Foundation, and is intended to promote the quality of responsible and discerning journalism that exemplified the work of Edward R. Murrow during his life. Renamed in 1965 in his honor, the fellowship was originally established in 1949 with support from the Carnegie Corporation, as the Fellowship for American Foreign Correspondents.

Edward R. Murrow (1908-1965)

Edward R. Murrow was one of the most distinguished and renowned reporters in U.S. broadcast journalistm, a pioneer in radio and television journalism. He covered the Second World War for CBS from London and the front lines in Europe. He then returned home and began the popular and groundbreaking television news show “See It Now.” In 1961, he was named director of the United States Information Agency. In 1964 he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Edward R. Murrow Press Fellows

2014–2015  Barbara Demick, Beijing Bureau Chief, Los Angeles Times; and Contributor, New Yorker
2013–2014  Fred Kaplan, National Security Columnist, Slate
2012–2013  Pir Zubair Shah, Reporter, New York Times
2011–2012  Ned Parker, Baghdad Bureau Chief, Los Angeles Times
2010–2011  Matthew F. Pottinger, former Reporter, Wall Street Journal
2009–2010  Kim Barker, former South Asia Bureau Chief, Chicago Tribune
2008–2009  Elizabeth Rubin, contributing writer, New York Times Magazine and New Republic
2007–2008  Mohamad Bazzi, Middle East Bureau Chief, NewsDay
2006–2007  Manjeet Kripalani, India Bureau Chief, BusinessWeek
2005–2006  Jane Arraf, Senior Baghdad Correspondent, CNN
2004–2005  Mary Anne Weaver, The New Yorker
2003–2004  Kathy Gannon, Afghanistan and Pakistan Bureau Chief, Associated Press
2002–2003  Celia Dugger, South Asia Co-Bureau Chief, The New York Times
2001–2002  Calvin Sims, Tokyo Bureau Correspondent, The New York Times
2000–2001  Jaime FlorCruz, China Bureau Chief, Time
1999–2000  Marcus Mabry, Africa Bureau Chief, Newsweek
1998–1999  Elizabeth Neuffer, European Bureau Chief, The Boston Globe
1997–1998  Adam Schwarz, Hanoi Bureau Chief, Far Eastern Economic Review
1996–1997  Anne L. Garrels, Moscow Bureau Chief, National Public Radio
1995–1996  Ann Cooper, former South Africa correspondent, National Public Radio
1994–1995  Caryle Marie Murphy, Middle East correspondent, The Washington Post
1993–1992  Rose Brady, Moscow Bureau Chief, Business Week
1992–1993  Marguerite Michaels, Nairobi Bureau Chief, Time
1991–1992  David J. Remnick, Moscow correspondent, The Washington Post
1990–1991  Daniel R. Southerland, Beijing Bureau Chief, The Washington Post
1989–1990  Edward A. Gargan, former Beijing Bureau Chief, The New York Times
1988–1989  Loren Jenkins, Rome Bureau Chief, The Washington Post
1987–1988  Clifford Kraus, Central America correspondent, The Wall Street Journal
1986–1987  Sandra J. Burton, Hong Kong Bureau Chief, Time
1985–1986   Dennis Mullin
1984–1985  William B. Blakemore, Rome Bureau Chief, ABC News
1983–1984  Christopher S. Dickey, The Washington Post
1982–1983  Elaine F. Sciolino, Rome Bureau Chief, Newsweek
1981–1982  Jonathan Kandell, Chief Correspondent, The International Herald Tribune
1980–1981  Rudolph S. Rauch III, Deputy Chief of Correspondents, Time-Life News Service
1979–1980  Thomas Lippman, Cairo correspondent, Washington Post
1978–1979  none
1977–1978  Richard Blystone, correspondent, Associated Press
1976–1977  Mort Rosenblum, Chief of Bureau for Argentina, Uruguay & Paraguay, Associated Press
1975–1976  Timothy D. Allman
1974–1975  Donald Kirk, Far Eastern correspondent, Chicago Tribune
1973–1974  James O. Goldsborough, European correspondent, International Herald Tribune
1972–1973  Stewart N. Kellerman, Indochina correspondent, United Press International
1971–1972  Robert L. Mott, Co-Editor, the Sunday “Outlook” section of the Washington Post
1970–1971  Lewis M. Simons, Bureau Chief for Malaysia and Singapore, Associated Press
1969–1970  Bill Brannigan, ABC Radio and TV News
1968–1969  Louis Kraar, Time-Life
1967–1968  Sol W. Sanders, Regional Editor, U.S. News and World Report
1966–1967  Malcolm W. Browne (first Murrow Fellow), correspondent for Vietnam, Associated Press
1965–1966  Welles Hangen
1964–1965  John K. Cooley
1963–1964  Arthur J. Dommen
1962–1963   none
1961–1962  Bernard Kalb, Southeast Asia correspondent, The New York Times
1960–1961  Morrie S. Helitzer, Bonn Bureau Chief, McGraw-Hill World News
1959–1960  Kennett Love
1958–1959  Whitman Bassow
1957–1958  John M. Hlavacek
1956–1957  Harry M. Heintzen
1955–1956  William J. Jorden
1954–1955  John H. Rich, Jr.
1953–1954  David B. Richardson
1952–1953  Alpheus W. Jessup
Irving R. Levine
1951–1952  Amos Landman
Hal Lehrman
George Palmer
1950–1951  William J. Boyle
Fitzhugh Turner
1949–1950  Robert Clurman
Henry R. Lieberman

Please note: Titles reflect fellows’ positions just prior to joining the Council.