The Cyrus R. Vance Fellowship in Diplomatic Studies

The Cyrus R. Vance Fellowship in Diplomatic Studies is offered to an outstanding Foreign Service Officer with strong career prospects to spend a year on educational assignment as a resident Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations. The year provides the Fellow with an opportunity to expand his or her understanding of international relations, with time away from public service to reflect upon issues of U.S. foreign policy. The fellowship was established in 1975, and was renamed in 2002 to honor former Secretary of State Cyrus R. Vance.

Cyrus R. Vance (1917-2002)

Cyrus R. Vance had a long career in government and in law. He joined Simpson Thacher & Bartlett in 1946, and continued to work at the firm throughout his career, excluding periods of government service. He was secretary of the army from 1961 to 1962, and served as deputy secretary of defense from 1964 to 1967. In 1968, he was designated one of theead negotiators at the peace talks in Paris. He served as secretary of state from 1977 to 1980, during which he played a crucial role in the Camp David Accords between Israel and Egypt He later headed numerous diplomatic missions, and remained an active philanthropist. He was a member of the Board of Directors of the Council on Foreign Relations for 13 years, and served as vice chairman for five years.

Cyrus R. Vance Fellows

2011–2012  Douglas P. Climan
2010–2011  E. Candace Putnam
2009–2010  Jacob Walles
2007–2009  J. Anthony Holmes
2005–2006  Evans J.R. Revere, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs
2003–2004  Christopher J. LaFleur, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for East Asian and Pacific Affairs
2002–2003  Helena Kane Finn, U.S. Embassy, Ankara, Turkey
1999–2000  Morton Holbrook, U.S. Embassy, Beijing, China
1998–1999  Neil E. Silver, Minister-Counselor for Political Affairs, U.S. Embassy, Tokyo, Japan
1996–1997  Victoria Nuland, Chief of Staff to Deputy Secretary of State Strobe Talbott
1995–1996  James F. Dobbins, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Inter-American Affairs, National Security Council
1994–1995  Robert T. Grey, Jr., Political Counselor, U.S. Mission to the United Nations
1993–1994  John Hirsch, Deputy Chief of Mission, U.S. Embassy, Johannesburg, South Africa
1985–1986  Charles A. Schmitz, Political Adviser to the U.S. Air Forces in Europe
1982–1983  Harry C. Blaney, III, Office of Oceans, Environment and Science
1981–1982  Robert Ober, Jr., Political Officer, U.S. Embassy, Moskow, USSR
1980–1981  Alan Romberg, Country Director for Japan
1979–1980  Philip Stoddard, Acting Deputy Director for Research
1978–1979  Parker W. Borg, Principal Officer, U.S. Consulate, Lunbumbashi, Zaire
1977–1978  William G. Walker, Chief of Political Section, U.S. Embassy, San Salvador, El Salvador
1976–1977  Anton W. DePorte, Western Europe Specialist, State Department Planning and Coordination Staff
1975–1976  R. Grant Smith, Political Officer, U.S. Embassy, New Delhi, India
1974–1975  E. Allan Wendt, Financial Economist, U.S. Mission to European Communities, Brussels

Please note: Titles reflect fellows’ positions just prior to joining the Council.