Who We Are

Global Board of Advisors


The Global Board of Advisors (GBA) consists of prominent individuals, including business leaders, noted academics, and former government officials from developed and emerging-market countries. The prestigious group provides CFR with insight about their regions and also offers a mechanism for members of the GBA to join discussions on international relations and the U.S. role in the world. The GBA is chaired by David M. Rubenstein, CFR Board chairman.

Members of the Global Board of Advisors

Kofi Annan, Former Secretary-General of the United Nations, Ghana

Hakeem Belo-Osagie, Nigeria

David Cameron, Former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, United Kingdom

Claudio Descalzi, Eni, Italy

Paul Desmarais Jr., Power Corporation of Canada, Canada

José Antonio Fernández Carbajal, FEMSA, Mexico

Fred Hu, Primavera Capital Group, China

Mo Ibrahim, Mo Ibrahim Foundation, Sudan

Gail Kelly, UBS Group AG, Australia

Ali Y. Koç, Koç Holdings A.S., Turkey

Strive Masiyiwa, Econet Wireless, Zimbabwe

Sunil Bharti Mittal, Bharti Enterprises, India

Takeshi Niinami, Suntory Group, Japan

Vladimir Potanin, MMC Norilsk Nickel, Russia

Charles David Powell, House of Lords, United Kingdom

Suzan Sabancı Dinçer, Akbank, Turkey

Álvaro Saieh, CorpGroup Interhold, Chile

Nassef Sawiris, OCI NV, Egypt

Javier Solana, ESADE Center for Global Economy and Geopolitics, Spain

Tidjane Thiam, Credit Suisse, Switzerland

Helle Thorning-Schmidt, Former Prime Minister of Denmark, Denmark

Patrick Walujo, Northstar Group, Indonesia

Zhang Xin, SOHO China Limited, China

Jaime Augusto Zóbel de Ayala, Ayala Corporation, Philippines