Support CFR

The Elihu Root Lecture

The Elihu Root Lecture was inaugurated in 1958 to honor a founder of the Council on Foreign Relations who served as its honorary president from 1921 to 1937. This lecture invites a distinguished American to reflect on his or her professional experience and how it applies to contemporary American foreign policymaking. Past Root lecturers have included Robert S. McNamara, Jacob K. Javits, William Fulbright, George F. Kennan, George Ball, and McGeorge Bundy, among others.

Root Lectures

February 2004

Elihu Root Lecture with General Myers

Speaker: Richard B. Myers, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

Presider: John McWethy, Special Correspondent, ABC News

February 11, 2004

This meeting is not for attribution.

January 2003

In Search of National Security

Speaker: Gary Hart, Of Counsel, Coudert Brothers

Presider: George E. Rupp, President, International Rescue Committee

January 21, 2003

This meeting is on the record.

June 2001

Integrating Africa into the World Economy: The Challenges Ahead

Speaker: James D. Wolfensohn, President, World Bank Group

Presider: Henry Kaufman, President, Henry Kaufman & Company, Inc.

June 14, 2001

This meeting is not for attribution.

May 2001

Economic Task Force on Russia - Session IV

May 14, 2001

This meeting is not for attribution.

October 1999

American Power: Hegemony, Isolationism or Engagement

SpeakerSamuel R. Berger, U.S. National Security Adviser

Presider: Leslie H. Gelb, President, Council on Foreign Relations

October 21, 1999

This meeting is not for attribution.

December 1998

U.S. Defense Priorities: Engagement and Isolationism

Speaker: William S. Cohen, U.S. Secretary of Defense

PresiderPeter G. Peterson, Chairman, The Blackstone Group; Chairman, Council on Foreign Relations

December 14, 1998

This meeting is not for attribution.

November 1997

U.S. Trade Negotiations: Lessons Learned, Lessons Applied

Speaker: Mickey Kantor, Partner, Mayer, Brown & Platt, former U.S. Secretary of Commerce; former U.S. Trade Representative

Presider: Julia Chang Bloch

November 5, 1997

This meeting is not for attribution.