Who We Are

Arthur Ross Book Award

The annual Arthur Ross Book Award recognizes books that make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of foreign policy or international relations. The prize, endowed by the late Arthur Ross in 2001, is for nonfiction works from the past year, in English or translation, that merit special attention for:

  • bringing forth new information that changes the understanding of events or problems;
  • developing analytical approaches that offer insights into critical issues; or
  • introducing ideas that help resolve foreign policy problems.

2023 Medalists

Gold Medal
Christopher R. Miller
Chip War: The Fight for the World’s Most Critical Technology

Silver Medal
Susan Shirk
Overreach: How China Derailed Its Peaceful Rise

Bronze Medal
Sergei Guriev and Daniel Treisman
Spin Dictators: The Changing Face of Tyranny in the 21st Century

Arthur Ross Book Award Events

You can view past Arthur Ross Book Award events and read the transcripts here.

Past Winners

Here is the list of past winners of the Arthur Ross Book Award, 2005 through 2021.


We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2023 award cycle. If you would like to nominate a book published in 2023 for the 2024 award, please email [email protected] with the following in the text of the email:

  • Book title
  • Book author
  • Publication date, including year
  • Publisher name

For any other inquiries, please email [email protected].


Gideon Rose (Chair)
Distinguished Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations

Lisa Anderson
President Emerita, American University in Cairo

Kwame Anthony Appiah
Professor, Philosophy and Law, New York University

Sumit Ganguly
Rabindranath Tagore Chair in Indian Cultures and Civilizations, Indiana University at Bloomington

Michelle D. Gavin
Senior Fellow for Africa Studies, Council on Foreign Relations; Former U.S. Ambassador to Botswana

Paul D. Golob
President and Executive Editor, Deadline Management LLC

Calvin G. Sims
Executive Vice President of Standards and Practices, CNN

Andrew Ross Sorkin
Columnist and Assistant Business Editor, New York Times

Sue Mi Terry
Senior Fellow, Korea Chair, Center for Strategic & International Studies

News Releases