About CFR

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides overall direction of the Council.

Board of Directors


David M. Rubenstein
Chairman; Cofounder and Co-executive Chairman, The Carlyle Group

Blair Effron
Vice Chairman; Cofounder, Centerview Partners, LLC

Jami Miscik
Vice Chairman; Chief Executive Officer and Vice Chairman, Kissinger Associates, Inc.

Richard N. Haass
President, Council on Foreign Relations

John P. Abizaid
Senior Partner, JPA Partners LLC

Mary Boies
Counsel, Boies & McInnis LLP

David G. Bradley
Chairman, Atlantic Media Company

Sylvia Mathews Burwell
President, American University

Ash Carter
Director, Belfer Center, Harvard Kennedy School

Kenneth I. Chenault
Chairman and Managing Director, General Catalyst Partners

Tony Coles
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Yumanity Therapeutics, LLC

David M. Cote
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, GS Acquisition Holdings

Steven A. Denning
Chairman, General Atlantic LLC

Laurence D. Fink
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, BlackRock

Stephen Freidheim
Chief Investment Officer and Senior Managing Partner, Cyrus Capital Partners L.P.

Timothy F. Geithner
President, Warburg Pincus

James P. Gorman
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Morgan Stanley

Stephen J. Hadley
Principal, RiceHadley Gates, LLC

Margaret (Peggy) Hamburg
Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Medicine

Susan Hockfield
President emerita, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Donna J. Hrinak
President, Boeing Brazil, The Boeing Company

James Manyika
Director (Senior Partner), McKinsey & Company, Director, McKinsey Global Institute

William H. McRaven
Former Chancellor, University of Texas System

Janet A. Napolitano
President, University of California

Eduardo J. Padrón
President, Miami Dade College

John A. Paulson
President, Paulson & Co.

Charles Phillips
CEO, Infor

Richard L. Plepler
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Home Box Office, Inc

Laurene Powell Jobs
Founder and President, Emerson Collective

Cecilia Elena Rouse
Dean, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs

James G. Stavridis
Dean, The Fletcher School

Frances Fragos Townsend
Executive Vice President, Worldwide Government, Legal and Business Affairs, MacAndrews & Forbes Incorporated

Margaret Warner
Senior Correspondent, PBS NewsHour

Vin Weber
Partner, Mercury

Daniel H. Yergin
Vice Chairman, IHS Markit

Fareed Zakaria
Host, Fareed Zakaria GPS, CNN


David M. Rubenstein

Blair Effron
Vice Chairman

Jami Miscik
Vice Chairman

Richard N. Haass

Keith Olson
Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, and Treasurer

James M. Lindsay
Senior Vice President, Director of Studies, and Maurice R. Greenberg Chair

Nancy D. Bodurtha
Vice President, Meetings and Membership

Irina A. Faskianos
Vice President, National Program and Outreach

Suzanne E. Helm
Vice President, Philanthropy and Corporate Relations

Jan Mowder Hughes
Vice President, Human Resources and Administration

Caroline Netchvolodoff
Vice President, Education

Shannon O’Neil
Vice President, Deputy Director of Studies, and Nelson and David Rockefeller Senior Fellow for Latin America Studies

Lisa Shields
Vice President, Global Communications and Media Relations

Jeffrey A. Reinke
Secretary of the Corporation

Officers and Directors, Emeritus & Honorary

Madeleine K. Albright
Director Emerita

Martin S. Feldstein
Director Emeritus

Leslie H. Gelb
President Emeritus

Maurice R. Greenberg
Honorary Vice Chairman

Carla A. Hills
Chairman Emeritus

Robert E. Rubin
Chairman Emeritus